New adventure of single parenting

Life has been a little tough lately. No Leslie and I aren’t splitting up. But I have been functioning as a single parent for the past 7 weeks. We are officially in our last year of medical school and with that comes residency audition rotations.She decided to do 5 away residency auditions. Each of these are 4 weeks long and are all at hospitals that she could potentially become a resident next year. Her travels will take her to Michigan, Rhode Island, Pennsylvania, Oklahoma, Ohio, then back home to finish up in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. 

While she’s been gone I have all three kids to manage by myself. Luckily Nate is old enough to mostly take care of himself minus making him meals and staying on him about laundry. But man Noah and Quinn are quite the handful this summer. With Noah out of school I’m trying my hardest to get out and do something everyday. Somedays it’s big stuff like trips to the zoo or splash pad but most days it’s just little stuff like going to the pool or to the park to play. Most days I feel great and enjoy my time with the kids but around 5 everyday I start to feel sad that Les won’t be coming home. This is the longest we’ve ever been away from each other in the nine years we’ve been together and it’s been hard on both of us.

I planned to make trips to see Les during her rotations. In June I made a 7.5 hour drive with the kids to Michigan. We were there for 3 days and it was just nice to be together again. 



It was a short 3 days but we enjoyed every minute of our time together. 

After Michigan she made a quick trip home before heading up to New England for her month in Rhode Island. 

After three weeks away the kids and I were ready to see mommy. So we took to the skies to go see her. I was beyond anxious to fly alone with 2 kids but I was determined that I could handle it. 

We had a full week to be there in Rhode Island and it was so nice to have so much time together. We had so much fun. We went to the beach on Block Island, Providence Children’s Museum, the Mystic Aquarium and site seeing around Providence. 

The trip to New England was fantastic. I surprisingly like it so much more than I thought I would. Traveling alone with the kids was stressful but I survived. 

Les is off to Tulsa, Oklahoma right now and it will be a long few weeks since we won’t be visiting her there. Thank goodness for FaceTime!

Adjusting to being home alone with the kids is still taking some time but I know it will be worth it in the end. Just 8 months to go until we have completed this journey of medical school. We’re really looking forward to having this behind us.

~M

Leave a Reply

