Sixteen

“I’ll love you forever. I’ll like you for always. As long as I’m living my baby you’ll be.” I’ve been saying those words for sixteen years now. My biggest baby turned sixteen yesterday. 

I swear I blinked and he went from being my tiny little boy with freckles and a big personality to this handsome young man.

He was my first true love. He’s had me wrapped around his finger since the day he was born.

   
 
They grow up so fast. You hear those words all the time but they are so true. I try to soak up every moment that I still have him at home because I know I’m only a few years away from him going off to college.

Parenting a teenager isn’t a easy job. There is a lot of give and take. Deciding how hard to push and how much responsibility to put on them. You learn to pick your battles. There are good and bad days. I’m lucky that they are mostly good with Nate. He’s a good student. A great athelete. And a wonderful big brother. I’m proud of who he’s becoming and proud that I helped turn him into who he’s going to be. 

  
   
    
   
  
Happy Birthday to my biggest baby, Nathan.

~M 

Leave a Reply

