Two Years

April 27th marked two years since I lost my brother.

Two years later…

I still miss him. His laugh. His stories. His silliness. His big hugs.

I still cry when I hear songs played at his funeral.

I still have flash backs of the day he died when I hear the song I was listening to when I got the call about him. Justin Timberlake, Mirrors.

I still wake up somedays and forget that he’s gone. Its easy to feel like he’s still on vacation in Colorado and will return one day.

I still regret not doing more and run through the what if’s in my head.

I still see how much pain my parents are in from losing their only son.

    

You learn that when you lose someone due to a drug overdose many people assume that it was a suicide or that he was a junkie. People make many assumptions about anyone who is an addict. The untimely deaths of a couple of actors due to addiction has helped to shed light on the problem but the assumptions are still out there.

I wish he was still here to see how are family has grown. I hate that Noah and Quinn will never know him. Two years later and it still hurts. I miss my big brother. 

 
 

For those who haven’t read what happened with my brother I added a link to the original post I made about my brothers death. https://theterrellsjourney.wordpress.com/2013/05/09/doesnt-seem-real/

~M 

4 thoughts on “Two Years

  1. I lost my brother to a drug overdose in 2005. I am very in touch with the range of emotions that come with losing a sibling. It’s important to shed light on addiction and the very real consequences to everyone around. Great tribute to your brother.

  2. I’m so sorry, my sweet friend. I can’t imagine the pain of losing someone that special and my heart goes out to your family. I believe in guardian angels and I’m pretty sure he watches over you and your family every day that he’s not here with you. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

