Progress

In March Noah started therapy. He is seeing a speech therapist for his speech delay and an occupational therapist for his sensory and development delays. He really likes both of his therapists. They are both so sweet and work great with him. Of course I wish I could say that we had instant success and that he is rambling on in sentences but it doesn’t work that way. I remind myself of that daily but he is making progress. Each week I see them challenge him with new activities and he does a great job adapting to new things and tries to do what is asked of him.

As a parent I still have lots of moments of feeling overwhelmed and sad. I love to hear his little voice and we cheer every time he says anything. He still only has a few words. He doesn’t say mama or mommy yet and that along with I love you are the things I want to hear the most. Some days I blame myself for not doing enough and think what can I do differently to help him. I just wish I had answers and wish I could do something more.

We are moving in June for Les to start her third year of medical school and to start clinical rotations. We are planning on starting Noah in a mother’s day out twice a week in August and it makes me a nervous wreck. I know it is a silly thing to worry over because I’m sure he’ll do fine but because he can’t talk I worry that the teachers wont know what needs. I’ve become an expert at knowing his little quirks and knowing when he’s thirsty, hungry, tired, wants his monkey, etc. But its time for him to be around other kiddos. I know it will be great for him and I’ll look back and think how silly I was to worry.

I just love that little boy soooo much. He has me wrapped around his finger.

I’ll leave you with a few recent pictures of our little guy ☺️

   
                 

8 thoughts on “Progress

  1. Gosh, he is so darling! Don’t worry, he’ll get there! If you are super worried about him communicating at the Mother’s Day out, you could have your speech pathologist make him a communication board – pictures of the things he might need: bathroom/diaper, drink, snack, monkey, etc. he could use it to help them understand. I’m sure he’ll get doted on though! πŸ™‚

    • The communication board is an awesome idea!!! I hadn’t even thought of that. Thanks for the idea I’m going to use that one for sure! πŸ˜ƒ

  2. He’s such a cutie! My son also received speech therapy, and it is so hard not to blame yourself for delays, but just know that you’re doing your best πŸ™‚ I think being around peers will definitely help too, and he’ll do just fine communicating his needs to his teachers.

  3. So, so cute!!! I was a preschool teacher for the better part of 10 years, and you’d be surprised how much the kids learn from each other. It may even help him to be around other kids that are perhaps a little more verbal than him. He could very well pick up on that. And language EXPLODES…one day to the next he can go from about 5 words to speaking a full sentence or two…it’s pretty awesome!

    • Thanks honey! Yeah I’m thinking some kind of communication board will work just need to get started on it so he can use it at home too.

Leave a Reply

