Life in the Mountains

Well it has been a while since I took the time to write about what has been going on in our world. Things just seemed to get rolling so fast once Les started school. I feel like I’m adjusting well to life in the mountains. Things here move at a slower pace but I am finding myself embracing that instead of hating it. Every morning I drive Nathan to school and on my way there and back I just look at the mountains in amazement. There hasn’t been a morning that I havent thought to myself, “this is just beautiful”. I often wonder if the people who have always lived here appreciate the scenery as much as I do. I hope that as long as we live here I always take the time to appreciate the amazing views and beautiful mountains that surround us. IMG_6374 Here’s a picture that I took of the view just to the right of our home.

Yes the views are amazing but there have been so many changes. Living here is very different.

I made a list of the things I’ve had to get used to living in the country…

* People ride their 4-wheelers EVERYWHERE.

* Lots of dead animals on the road…I’ve never seen so many dead skunks, possums, squirrels, rabbits, etc. in my entire life!

* No local trash pick up. We have to take our trash to the dump ourselves and I am not a fan of this at all. Luckily it is only a mile down the road but still a pain to do it and STINKY too!!!

* Cows grazing in our backyard and mooing extremely loudly at times.

* No Starbucks or Dunkin Donuts.

* Very limited shopping options.

* Being the only lesbian family

For over a year now we have prepared for Leslie to start Med School. We knew that school would become her full-time job. Well my goodness has it ever been that and then some! She is usually gone 8 to 12 hours a day. She has lectures and labs every day. And then study time on top of all that. I can’t begin to keep up with the crazy schedule that she has. I do my best to be supportive the best way I know how. I keep up with the boys and the house. I do all the cooking and cleaning so she can focus on school. She has been pretty stressed out to say the least. But we’re learning a routine and working out the kinks in our schedules. I still drive back to Nashville every weekend to work for now. I know most of you are probably thinking I’m crazy but honestly its really not that bad. I leave on Friday when Nathan gets out of school. I drive 3 hours and 30 mins drop the boys off with my parents then go in to work for the night. I work again Saturday night then drive back to east Sunday evening after getting some rest. I make a little bit of money and my job gives me and the boys health insurance. I know that one day I may get tired of it but for now its working so I’ll keep doing it until I decide its too much.

I’m excited to tell you that I’m making friends! Yay! I joined the SAA (Student Advocate Assoc.) here at LMU, which is made up mostly of Med Student spouses. And through the group I have met several other stay at home moms and other spouses. This group seems to be like a close-knit group of girls that really help each other through the Med School process while their spouses are busy with school. Everyone has been very nice and welcoming so far. Of course I always have that small fear of being discriminated against when people learn we are a lesbian family but so far we have had no problems despite living in a conservative area.

Nathan has made several friends at his new school and is transitioning well. He still misses his friends at his old school but is doing really well here. I do worry that he isn’t being challenged enough here at this school but I am just happy that he is fitting in and not begging to go back to his old school every day.

Well wish us luck as we continue working to make these mountains home!

~M

Leave a Reply

