So much to do…so little time

The title of this post truly sums up our life right now. I have so much to do with very little time to get it all done.

Most of you already know my wife was accepted into Medical School this past summer and she will be starting school this coming fall. Which means we have to pack up and move 4 hours away. Selling our home has been one of the most stressful experiences but I am happy to say after it being on the market for over 6 months and 2 contracts falling through due to unforseen issues, we finally have a good contract on it and have less than 30 days until we close.

Selling this home is bitter-sweet. I purchased this house just a few months before Les and I started dating so we’ve spent our entire relationship in this house. Nate was a little guy back then, only 6 years old and Noah wasn’t even in the works yet. We’ve turned this House into our Home. I will admit that we have out grown it and even if we weren’t moving for Med School we would probably need to upgrade to something larger but its been a wonderful place to call Home and I will be sad to leave it.

I am simply overwhelmed at the thought of packing this house up while trying to take care of a baby each day. Noah is still in a hold me ALL the time stage. He’s not into toys yet and has a short attention span still so I have limited windows of time to pack. I have decided that I have to take people up on their offers to baby sit so that I can get some packing done. Luckily Les and I don’t like clutter and we purge our closets of clothes that we no longer wear at least twice a year but we still have a LOT of stuff! I honestly don’t know where to start. I think that’s why I keep putting it off! To add to the stress of packing everything up… I have to decide what things do we need now and what things can we live without because even though we’ve sold our home we won’t be moving moving until July. Some of our things will go into storage while the things we use often will go with us to my parents home. Yes, you heard me right we are going to live with my parents for 4 months.

We had many long discussions about moving in with my parents and went back and forth about it. But in the end it all came down to the fact that we need to save money while we can. We are trying to be a debt free as possible when we move since Les will not be working and her student loans will be considerably less than her income now. We’re lucky that my parents home is large enough to hold us and allow us to have our own space but we know it will still be close quarters with them for 4 months. It will be hard because we are our own little family and we like being able to do our own thing but we are looking at the bigger picture and realize how smart it is to stay with them. I am thankful for them and their support as we make this transition so we will make it work for the 4 months we have to be there.

Another thing that we must do is decide where we are going to live when we move. We have no idea where we are going to live yet. I have not even been to LMU’s campus or the town that we are moving to. I guess you could say that I am trusting that my wife is picking a great place for our family to be. I know that the town is small and that it is nothing like the city we live in now. Even though Nashville isn’t large compared to some other cities it still has just about everything you could need or want from a major metropolitan city and I love being close to the city. Moving to a rural area like we are will be a bit of a shock for me and I am trying to mentally prepare for it.

So here we are. Less than a month away from leaving our home and less than 6 months away from moving away from the city we’ve called home for so long now. So much to do…so little time.

~M

5 thoughts on “So much to do…so little time

  1. How exciting but also stressful I’m sure! Georgia and I have lived in the same home our entire relationship as well and while we feel ready for a bigger space, the idea of moving is exhausting to us as well! That’s awesome that you have the support of your parents! I think my mom and I would kill each other if we had to live under the same roof. We just barely made it through my teen years, lol. πŸ˜‰

    • Ha! I always butted heads with my dad growing up…we’re just alike! My mom is such a sweetheart but is a bit of a nervous ninny when it comes to Noah. She means well but tends to hover quite a bit so it will be interesting! I’m trying to just stay postive and think of all the help I will have and the money we’ll be saving. : )

      • My mother-in-law is the exact same way. Every little noise Gracie makes is something to panic about… You’ll get through it. The good thing is summer is just around the corner. Hopefully you all can keep busy having fun outside!

Leave a Reply

