Life Changes

Wow. Its amazing how quickly life changes once you’ve brought a new baby home. Noah has completely taken over our lives. I think this is the first time I’ve sat down with my laptop and felt like I had enough time to write and let everyone know how we’re doing. I never meant to stop blogging once he came along. I still feel like haven’t completely adjusted to life with a new baby yet and he’s 9 weeks old! I promise to do a better job in updating.

Les and I often look at him and say I can’t believe he’s all ours. We waited and wished for him for so long that sometimes it feels like it’s a wonderful dream that we will wake up from. He is a happy happy boy. He is always smiling and cooing. I just love the noises that he makes. We are so proud of him. We’re always taking pictures him I know he must be tired of our cameras going off. We’re regulars on Instagram ( @M_BESSTERRELL if you want to follow ) posting pictures for our family and friends to see. It’s amazing how quickly they change and grow! In 9 short weeks I look back at how tiny he was and already miss him being that small! At his 2 month visit last week he already weighed 12lbs.

I have to tell you that having a baby is not exactly like I remembered. Nate is 13 now and that means it had been 13 years since I had a baby around (I have to add that he is the greatest big brother ever. He is wonderful with Noah and just adores him). I really forgot how time-consuming a baby can be. I am quite sleep deprived. I don’t think I’ve slept longer than 4 1/2 hours since Noah was born. He sleeps consistently about a 5 hour stretch each night and even pulled a 6 hour stretch a couple of times. I know I need to but I rarely lay down right away when he sleeps. I’m always thinking that I have to take advantage of the time that he sleeps because I can’t seem to get much done when he’s awake. He LOVES to be held which means when you lay him down he cries. Neither of us can handle hearing him cry for very long so I will admit that we hold him a lot. I don’t mind holding him but have found that its nearly impossible to do house hold chores with a baby  in one arm. Thank Heaven for the Ergo Baby Carrier that we got for Christmas from my parents. That thing is a life saver! We can put him in that and he passes out! I told Les that I think he must feel like he’s back in my belly when we put him in that thing.

I often feel like the world revolves around my milk makers…thats what I call my boobs these days. I pump about 4 times a day and nurse Noah once sometimes twice a day. I started mostly pump to bottles the last couple of weeks so that I’m not the only one who can feed him. When I was only nursing him no one could help me. Nursing is very time consuming and not convinient with a 13 yo boy running around the house. So after 4 – 5 weeks of only nursing I started pumping so that we could bottle feed more. Noah has taken to the bottles really well. I was afraid that if we went to bottles he wouldn’t nurse anymore but that doesn’t seem to be a problem at all. Noah loves to eat no matter how he gets it.

So Les and I went back to work 2 weeks ago. I only work Friday and Saturday nights so it wasn’t too tough to go back considering I knew that I would be at home with Noah all week long. Les is working her crazy schedule and taking one final pre-med class. I feel sorry for her sometimes having to juggle all that she does but she’s amazing and some how finds time for it all.

Parenting to full of trial and error. We have no real schedule like we thought we would. We just take it one day at a time and enjoy having our little man in our lives. I promise to write more again soon.

Sending good vibes and lots of well wishes to all of you ladies TTC!

~M

6 thoughts on “Life Changes

  1. Congratulations again! I totally get why you are pumping, btw. How to nurse around teen aged lads just isn’t covered in the Womanly Art of Breastfeeding but it is a real issue, lol! Hope things keep going well for you all 😉

Leave a Reply

