Just Days Away

Well we’ve figured it out. We’ve decided to just get a hotel room right down the street from the hospital where our donor will be. When we started thinking about it, we still have the money saved that we had planned on using for the IUI’s and those were $250 each time. Getting a hotel room will only cost us around $150 and we will be able to do our first insemination there Thursday afternoon and the 2nd one Friday before check out. Now that is WAY more appealing than inseminating in the car. I think we both would have been a nervous wreck!

I think Les is starting to get a little weirded out about having to be in charge of the Jiz. I know for her it must be pretty crazy. She will have to carry it, stir it, manage to wrangle it all into a syringe and then deposit it where it’s supposed to go. Now that’s pretty up close and personal if you ask me. Bless her heart. I know that she’ll do just fine but knowing us we’ll probably laugh through the whole thing.

We were laughing about not knowing what to say to the donor when we do the handoff. Hey buddy…so how did go? Hope you got a lot of good stuff for us!” Ha! Truthfully, I’m so glad that I will be at the hotel when she gets it from him. I have no idea what I would say and Les said it probably wasnt a great idea for me to get it from him because I would start rambling like an idiot or start getting emotional. I’d probably start crying like a crazy person, thanking him way too much, try to hug him or something weird and I’d end up scaring him away. As much as I’d like to deny that would happen she probably is right. I think its best that she takes care of that part and I just focus on being relaxed and ready.

One of my dear friends happens to be a family nurse practitioner and was giving us all kinds of advice on how to be successful. One of his suggestions was to practice how we plan to do it every day until the day of so that we have it down to a science and know that we are doing. Well we gave it a go yesterday and talk about a weird moment. I’m not kidding, once we got all the things we needed laid out and everything ready you would have thought that we were about to perform a surgery. But I’m pretty sure we got this in the bag…

So here we are just days away from doing something that still sounds crazy to me. First time without our third wheel and other onlookers. Its going to feel awful empty in the room. Oh the things lesbians will do to get knocked up.

~M

6 thoughts on “Just Days Away

  1. I love this post…. so funny and so true! that moment when you are handed the magic juice is a bit awkward. Having said that, our donor always seems to be completely nonchalant about the whole process and usually puts me at ease! All the very very best! I hope it work, and mine too this time…. R

    • I’m hoping that it’s the same with our donor! I think if we can get through this first handoff then we’ll be good. I’ll post about how it goes! Thanks for all the words of encouragement!

Leave a Reply

